Managing pH In New Tank

CidProQuo
First I'd like to say I appreciate anyone's time answering my ?s. I am no expert at this (new to fish tanks) and it is nice to have a community where I can solicit feedback and benefit from others' expertise. I also know that some of the things I'm going to put below were 'mistakes' (that I should have done differently). I recognize that but regardless I find myself needing advice now that I am in the situation I am.

Second, some details about my tank:
20 Gallon, Hang on the back filter (with what appears to be a charcoal bag in it), 100w heater, No live plants (only plastic)

I first setup the tank and used Tetra Auquasafe dechlorinator and also used API Quickstart for the nitrifying bacteria. Unfortunately, I only waited 24hrs after using these to introduce fish (2 mollies, 2 guppies and 5 tetra). I had not yet received my testing kit (I got the API master test kit a day later) when I introduced the fish. That first night, all 5 tetras dies and one of the guppies. The next day when I got the test kit, the water tested 8.0 on pH (which is what I assume killed the fish). The next day the pH went down to 7.8. The day after that it went down to 7.6. Then, suddenly, on the third day (yesterday) the pH went all the way down to 6. For all 3 days, the ammonia/nitrate/nitrite tests all produced zero.

I know I should have let the tank cycle (without fish) instead of taking the impatient approach, but everyone knows how the wife and family can be about not wanting to wait weeks for the tank to be truly ready for fish. That was a mistake and I recognize that now and learned from it.