How Fast Does Prime Work?

Emuhlee
I know I'm a little late on getting my water tested and all. Didn't quite have the money for all of it and honestly didn't know I needed everything I did since I'm just learning. Anyways my pet shop gave me and ammonia tester strip and a gh,kh, ph,no2,no3 test strip. Here was the readings...

Gh: 0-30
Kh: 80-120
Ph: 6.5-7.0
NO2: 0-0.5
NO3: 0-20
Ammonia: 1.0-3.0

I can post the pictures of the bottle and the test strips if need be. When I put the prime in, will it be safe for the fish and how long does it take to get the water to where it needs to be with the prime. Thanks in advance!

david1978
Not sure what your asking but prime does not remove ammonia, nitrites or nitrates. Water changes will reduce them then prime will detox 1 ppm combined of ammonia and nitrites for 24 hours.

bizaliz3
Prime doesn't get rid of ammonia. It detoxifies it if it is under 1ppm, making it safe for the fish, but only for 24 hours. It doesn't magically get the water where you want it to be.

If your ammonia is over 1ppm, the prime will not help protect the fish.

If I were you I would do small daily water changes with prime, until the tank completes it's cycle.

goldface
Prime’s main purpose is as a dechlorinator, not a detoxifier of ammonia. This process (diffusion) happens quite quickly, so treated water can be used almost instantaneously.

sloughdog
Glad you’re taking the steps to educate yourself and taking an active role in getting on the right track.

So now that you have a way to dechlorinate water and detox ammonia, study “Fish In Cycle”. You’re gonna need to test the water daily and act accordingly.

Emuhlee
I
Glad you’re taking the steps to educate yourself and taking an active role in getting on the right track.

So now that you have a way to dechlorinate water and detox ammonia, study “Fish In Cycle”. You’re gonna need to test the water daily and act accordingly.