Does bacteria in a bottle really work this fast?

Gogiants85

Hello!

I am a novice to the aquarium hobby, but have jumped in with both feet. I understand the nitrogen cycle, but the results I'm seeing are confusing.

I began cycling a 75 gallon (soon to be mbuna) aquarium yesterday morning.

I dosed Fritz Pro ammonium chloride up to 8 ppm.

30 minutes later I added 2 Oz of Fritz TurboStart 700, and 3 capfulls of Stability then walked away.

This morning, I tested the water, and the Ammonia is down to between 2 and 4 ppm, Nitrites are between 2 and 5 ppm, and I have Nitrates of between 20 and 40 ppm. What?!?

I plan on leaving the tank alone today and testing again tomorrow morning to see if the Ammonia continues to drop and if there is a decrease in Nitrites. From everything I've read, I don't completely understand what's going on.

I did the high initial dose of Ammonia intentionally, figuring that I wouldn't have to re-dose once the Nitrite conversion began and the Ammonia would hold around 4ppm until the Nitrates started to show.

My original plan was to add Stability daily after the initial seeding with TurboStart. However, I'm not sure if it's possible the bacteria is taking care of the process but not necessarily colonizing the filter media? So I was thinking I'd let it sit for today and test again tomorrow

Thoroughly confused.

For reference:

Tap water is 0-0-0, pH 7.6. Tank is at 82 degrees F

Filtration is a Marineland Penguin Pro 375 HOB with Biomax media, Aquaclear sponge, and Polyfill. And a Fluval FX4 Canister with the Biomax and sponges it came with.

If anyone can help me decipher this it would be greatly appreciated!!
20210408_152445.jpg

Best Answer - View mattgirl's answer

Betta'sAnonymous