Fishless Cycle

1. Stephanie0823

Stephanie0823 New Member Member

Hello everyone - I’m getting a 37 gallon tank in a couple of weeks so I added a sponge filter to my cycled 10 gallon yesterday to get some of the beneficial bacteria going on it. My question is when I get the new tank do I just add the sponge filter from the 10 gallon in the tank along with the HOB that comes with the tank? Will that be enough to get the cycle started? Will I need to do anything else such as feeding the tank and how long does it usually take doing this method? Im pretty certain my 10 gallon HOB filter won’t fit in the bigger filter, plus I need to keep it going for my fish that are currently in the 10g - so I can’t seed the new HOB in that manner. This is my first time doing this - your help is appreciated!

2. Mick Frost

Mick Frost Valued Member Member

The sponge filter will seed, but it won't be enough to add a bunch of fish right away. You're doing it right, just make sure you add your fish slowly. Start with maybe 6 Guppy-sized fish, wait about 2 weeks, add 3, wait again, add 4, wait again, then finish. The biggest thing is to test your water regularly.

3. OP
    OP
    Stephanie0823

I’ll be moving my current fish from my 10g to it - right now there are 3 Glo Tetras- they are the reason for the bigger tank, so I can have a proper school, I didn’t know when I started a month and a half ago a 10g would be too small as I would need to build my school to at least 5-6. I’ll probably add another type of fish also - eventually, now I know research is the key - so I’ll be sure to do it right this time - I hope!

4. Hunter1

Hunter1 Well Known Member Member

If the sponge is in your current tank for a month, it will hold sufficient beneficial bacteria (already be cycled) to a portion on the bioload it is supporting in the 10.