Completely overwhelmed - please help !

Dechi

Having a saltwater tank has always been a dream for me but I never went ahead with it because it is complicated and every time I start looking into equipment, I get lost in too many details and end up with my head about to explode...

I’m an experienced freshwater hobbyist so at least that’s a start. If it’s realistic, instead of trying to be an expert before buying everything, I would like to know just enough so I can start a tank running and then learn more as I go. If not, I’m afraid I’ll never start anything.

I would like to start with a 15 gallons approximately, like the Fluval Evo 13.5. Something that comes with a light that can grow corals and not too expensive, in case I don’t like it and want to quit.

Here are my questions :

1) What is a good RO/Di system for beginners that doesn’t have to be permanently installed and easy to use ?

2) How often do you need to replace cartridges and what’s the approximate yearly budget for that ?

3) What other equipment do I need to buy besides the aquarium equipped with a filter/pump and a light, a wavemaker, a heater, saltwater tests, saltwater and a TDS meter ? What brands/models do you recommend for each item ?

4) What are the steps of a good beginner set-up (I can have access to live sand, but not to live rocks) ?

5) What inverts, corals and others should I start with ?

6) What’s an approximative yearly budget for maintenance ?

7) Any tips / advice you can give me

I know this is a lot to ask but even if you cover just one area, I will really appreciate it.

Thank you !

kanzekatores

In the long run it could be cheaper to buy rodi water from your store if they supply it. That is what I do so I’m not sure about what ro system would be best.

I use aqua clear and replace the media every few months, just when it starts looking dirty. What filter will you be using?