Zero nitrates (new tank cycle)

Kuebeecee

I set up a 55 gallon tank over a week ago. It has one Java fern, two anbuias and four Ludwigia Repens.

After the initial setup, I added some water from my 10 gallon tank, ghost fed and added bacteria (aquavitro seed.)

After the first three days, I started testing the water everyday and have consistently gotten a zero reading on ammonia, nitrites and nitrates. As I said before, it’s been almost two weeks and I’ve gotten the same readings everyday.

I am new to the hobby and this is my first large tank, so I am not sure if the cycling process is extremely different when adding bacteria. I tested the water of my 10 gallon tank with the same test kit to make sure there was nothing wrong, and nitrates showed up on that tank.

I guess I’m just wondering if this is normal and if I need to do anything.

CMT

If you have not seen ammonia and then nitrite, followed by nitrate, it almost surely has not cycled yet.

It sounds like you are doing a fishless cycle? If so, I would recommend to add some ammonia directly, dosing to 2 PPM, wait 24 hours, then test the water. That will tell you where you are in the cycle.

If you have fish already, do NOT do this though.

tapwater

If you have not seen ammonia and then nitrite, followed by nitrate, it almost surely has not cycled yet.

It sounds like you are doing a fishless cycle? If so, I would recommend to add some ammonia directly, dosing to 2 PPM, wait 24 hours, then test the water. That will tell you where you are in the cycle.

yeah either this or you can use fish food to "feed" your tank while it cycles

Azedenkae

I am new to the hobby and this is my first large tank, so I am not sure if the cycling process is extremely different when adding bacteria. I tested the water of my 10 gallon tank with the same test kit to make sure there was nothing wrong, and nitrates showed up on that tank.