Yoyo Loach Question

Discussion in 'YoYo Loach' started by michaelmcg, Apr 19, 2017.

1. m

michaelmcg New Member Member

My tank has been fully set up for about 2 weeks and this morning it looks like one of my Yoyo Loaches has developed a bulge in its belly. How can I tell whether it is pregnant or fat? All my fish are still pretty small so I figured there wouldn't be any babies yet.

2. Kiks

Kiks Well Known Member Member

Unfortunately I have no experience with Yoyo loaches, but when you say that your tank has been fully set up for two weeks, does it mean that it finished cycling two weeks ago or that it's two weeks ago since you filled it with substrate and water?

3. OP
    OP
    m

The fish have been in for 2 weeks. The cycling and setup had been done probably a week before that. I let everything sit a while to make extra sire I wasn't throwing fish into something uncomfortable.

4. 2211Nighthawk

2211Nighthawk Fishlore VIP Member

By buldge do you mean it looks like he swallowed a marble? Big and round? My ropefish did that and gave me a heart attack but it went away after a while. I didn't think yoyo's bred in captivity but I could be wrong.

5. Fahn

Fahn Fishlore VIP Member

Unfortunately just letting a tank full of water sit won't cycle it. You need a source of ammonia, be it fish producing waste or another source, to feed the bacteria that convert it to nitrites and eventually nitrates.

You can't cycle a tank in a week, it can take up to 6 weeks to properly cycle.

If possible, can you share your tank parameters? Ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate levels, as well as temperature? Also, have you been doing water changes?

6. OP
    OP
    m