Your recommendation

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by MnK, Mar 19, 2006.

1. MnKNew MemberMember

Newbie here coming out of lurking in the depth of this forum.
    :-\ I've done my research and have narrowed down what fish to put in our 125 gallon tank. Clown Loach (12''), Blue Danio (2''), Swordtail (6''), Balloon Molly (4 1/2''), Mega clown Placos or a Leopard Placos, Adolfoi Cory Cat.  I would like to have Blue Gourami (6'') also but read they were aggressive.  We can have 60 inches of fish.  What would be a good mix from these choices?

2. Butterfly

ButterflyModeratorModerator Member

Welcome to fishLore!!!
    Three clown loaches( they need buddies), fifteen to twenty blue danios( they do better in large groups, about three gouramis, one clown pleco or one leopard pleco. The clowns are too rambunctious for corys. they won't so much hurt them as run right over the top of them while playing.
    Out of these the clowns are the only ones I couldn't do without. I have clowns now and they are wonderful.
    the way I came to these suggestions is that they all swim at different levels the majority of the time and will give your tank a busy look. just some suggestions ;)

Carol

3. OP
    OP
    M

MnKNew MemberMember

Thanks! I really like the clowns too. I tried to pick fish that swam at different levels. Just want to make sure about the Adolfoi Cory Cat. I should not get them? Do I need a cat fish? What would you recommend? One more thing, What sex of each?

4. atmmachine816

atmmachine816Fishlore VIPMember

If you want a nice catfish how about a bristlenose or two they are nice at keeping flakes off the bottom and algae off the sides of your tank

5. JasonWell Known MemberMember