Yikes Nitrites!

Krissy2

Reaction score
Hmnnnn... I need a little help here. I have a new tank (5 gallon fluval) that has been stocked with live plants and a betta (he was in a filthy cup and my plant shopping spree turned into a rescue mission) for a week and a half. I am using Seachem prime and I changed 25% of the water after one week. Unless I’m crazy, I don’t see an alarming amount of ammonia... but it looks like my nitrite is at an alarming level. I don’t want to hurt my fish! Can someone please tell me their thoughts on this? I’m relatively new to the hobby. Thank you!

Attachments

kallililly1973

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Krissy2 said:
Thank you!!! I just did a 75% water change... this is much better, but is it acceptable?
Definitely much better! Did you treat your tank with Prime? It will detoxify up to 1ppm of ammonia and nitrites for 24-48 hours.

OP
Krissy2

Krissy2

Reaction score
kallililly1973 said:
Definitely much better! Did you treat your tank with Prime? It will detoxify up to 1ppm of ammonia and nitrites for 24-48 hours.
I did use prime. I’m wondering if I should do another water change or add more prime tomorrow... would that be overkill?

kallililly1973

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Krissy2 said:
I did use prime. I’m wondering if I should do another water change or add more prime tomorrow... would that be overkill?
It looks like you got your nitrites down to .25 I would do another 50-75% WC tomorrow.

OP
Krissy2

Krissy2

Reaction score
I was wondering if someone could weigh in on my latest reading. I changed 75% of the water Thursday night, and 50% last night. This is my reading from this morning... not sure if I should make another water change or perhaps add more prime.

Attachments

kallililly1973

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
Just started