Yikes, My baby's tail keeps splitting

Muffymouse

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Hi, I'm new to the forum and fairly new to all fish, but I am dealing with a problem that no one around here seems to know about. Tail splitting. I had this problem before with my first betta and now it's happening again. I buy this beautiful fan-tail (hey what can I say, I'm new to fish and am a freashwater girl in a saltwater town) I get him home and within days his tail and dorsal fins start splitting apart and developing little holes in them. The water quality is really pretty good, ph may be a touch high. What do I do? He seems happy, and swims and eats well, but I can't imagine that he likes having this happen to him. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

genie

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Sounds like the dreaded fin rot! Treat with Jungle Labs Fungus Eliminator or Marycin & Marycin 2.
Anyone else please put your opinion in.

COBettaCouple

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
what are the exact numbers for ammonia, nitrites and nitrates? are you using the liquid test or strips?

pH being high won't bother him, unless the pH of the water in his cup is a good bit different than the tank water pH. a pH shock could bring on stress and open him up to things like fin rot. how do you acclimate him to the tank?

It does sound like finrot and i'd treat him asap for it, as well as get him: if possible. The DFS website is a great place to get your fish supplies.

Muffymouse

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
I use liquid tests and have Zeros on Ammonia, Nitrate, and Nitrite. To acclimate him to the tank, I floated him in the cup for 15 to 20 mins, then poured about half of his cup water out and put in about the same amount of the tank water. Then let it be for about 15 more mins. Scooped him and and placed him in the tank.