Yellow Spots On My Anubias - What Is It?

bmblsad

I am new to aquarium keeping. I have a 15-gallon that I started up in early May. I have eco-complete as substrate. It's planted with 1 anubia congensis, 1 anubia barterI or nana (can't remember and can't tell the difference), 1 cryptocoryne undulata, 2 java ferns, 2 marimo balls, and some very thin dwarf hair grass. The resident fish is a small oranda goldfish who constantly uproots the hair grass, but oh well.

Recently, very small yellow spots have started to appear on the anubia congensis. They appear to be spreading to just generalized yellowing areas. No leaves have died yet. Also, one leaf on the anubia barterI (?) or nana (?) is speckled with white dots.

We are on a well with softened water. My GH is 1 drop (barely) and my KH is 14 (API) (sorry don't know how to convert the drops to whatever the measurement is supposed to be). Ammonia 0, nitrites 0, nitrates about 5, and pH a steady 8.2.

I fertilize about every 12 days with Seachem Flourish. My light is a Verilux full spectrum F15T8VLX.

I do about a 25-30% water change every 10 days. I do have some light growth of brown algae (diatoms?) that I clean off the plants, decor and walls with each water change. Thinking about getting a nirite snail to help.

For the first month or so everything was looking good, with new leaves sprouting. But now, small yellow spots are appearing and the tips of the anubias are turning yellow.

I've included some pics. Hope they help. Is this a phosphate or potassium deficiency? Something else?

Thanks for any help!
Beth

Attachments

• plant 1.jpg
    plant 1.jpg
    104.1 KB · Views: 76
  • plant 2.jpg
    plant 2.jpg
    103.1 KB · Views: 74

-Mak-

Hi, welcome!