Yay or Nay? Coal Slag for substrate Question

Discussion in 'Freshwater Substrates - Gravel, Sand' started by April R, Aug 1, 2014.

1. April R

April R Well Known Member Member

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Blast-Media...565?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3391e03705

So I was thinking of using this to cap my dirted tank. It is my 20 gallon guppy/cory heavily planted tank and I have been battling a losing war with cloudy water from the Miracle Grow coming up through the current cap of Onyx Sand because of my stinking cories turning it up all the time :p Silly cute buggers.

My major issue is that my filters are getting hopelessly clogged with dirt, and I am tired of changing out the pads every other day with no change in the cloudiness of my water, even after major water changes of up to 75%.

If anyone has had experience with using coal slag in a planted tank please please please help!! Thanks :;toast

Last edited: Aug 1, 2014
  2. Marie1

Marie1 Well Known Member Member

I've never used it. The only issue I could see with it is it may be too sharp for the cory. But having never used or even seen it, I can't say for sure.

3. Coradee

Coradee Moderator Moderator Member

I have heard of a product called Black diamond blasting sand & some people have used the 20-30 grain size for corys with no ill effects.
    I don't know if that link you gave is a similar product, you could ask if they'd send you a sample to see whether it's sharp or not.

4. OP
    OP
    April R

great idea!

5. g

guppyguy76 Valued Member Member

Interesting.....I didn't know anything of a by product of coal would be suitable for aquariums. I live in PA and I have seen the toxic orange runoff in streams because of coal mining here north and west of where I live. My family is from the coal region originally.

6. Thunder_o_b

Thunder_o_b Fishlore VIP Member

I would not trust anything that was the by-product of the mining process

7. Marie1

It's inert. It's used for sand blasting.

8. Thunder_o_b