Would you recommend plants for a beginner?

Firecracker
I'm still waiting for my tank to cycle, it should probably be another week or two.

I really like the look of plants and have read a little bit about them. I was considering getting a "mixed pack" of low-light requirement plants. I have a 30 gallon with a big Parthenon looking thing in the middle, and only wanted a few plants behind it and on the sides.

Is it too much trouble? I kind of think if I'm going to do it I should plant them before I get the fish, right?

FishPerson
what kind of lighting do you have? Plants need light to grow (obviously) and from what I've heard the higher the wattage you have, the more plants that need more light you can have. I think the minimum for the lowest of light requirements is around 1watt/gallon.

plant crab
Despite my choosen career as a greenhouse grower, aquarium plants are a whole different animal. I am a total newbie to aqauriums and aqaurium plants, but I've been doing some research into plants. The thing is, its different than being in the garden or the greenhouse, because you have this mini-ecosystem, and all these chemical reactions that are going on just get taken for granted normally.

The light that you use on your aquarium gets dispersed very quickly as it goes through the layers of water. For high light plants, you will need 2-4 watts per gallon. Low light plants will take 1-2 watts per gallon. My recommendation is try out a few low light, easy plants before you start spending tons of money on brighter bulbs. You will need to have your light on for 14 hours a day.

Try stuff like Java Fern and Anubias which are both low light. Spathyphyllum (sold as peace lily on dry land) is incredibly difficult to kill and very tolerant of light levels. You will also want to add a bubbler to the tank - put it on a timer and have it go on at night once your lights go out. When plants are in darkness they begin pulling oxygen back. So this is very important.