WORMS!

1. RudeeRu Member Member

:eek:EEK Ok so maybe fish isn't my thing if I don't like worms

There are these tiny little worms in my tank!  I noticed it today when I stirred up the gravel to add a cave for the new ghost shrimps I bought (tank is cycled yea!), and EWWW I'm NOT a worm person!  I read that they are harmless just an eyesore and will be more visible when there is excess food! 

Ok, update: I did a 30% water change, vacuumed the gravel, sanitized everything (hot water, soap on the top of the tank's lid but rinsed VERY thoroughly)...when I stirred them up my mollies went CRAZY eating them!  The shrimps seemed pleased about the tank stir-up as well!  I want to take care of the problem without the use of chemicals, but I will if it means I don't have to see them anymore...has anyone used Jungle parasite clear?  So far it seems like the most harmless.  Sorry if I seem so ew-icky-ew, but I'm a vet tech and there's no such thing as a "good" worm in my eyes!  So far the only non-chemical remedy is to fast my fish for 2-3 days (although they are snacking on the worms so I guess they aren't really fasting!) and 25% water changes/gravel vacuums daily.  But is that going to mess up the bacteria?  I just cycled and DO NOT want to go thru that process again!  I SWEAR if it's not one thing it's another!  :'(

2. RudeeRu Member Member

EEK WORMS! HELP!

3. Jon Well Known Member Member

if your tank is cycled it is a necessity that you start gravel vaccing (at least bi-weekly but preferably a lil more often)... it wont mess up the bacteria if your tank is already cycled unless you do somethign dumb like change all of your water, your filter, and then go add some fish... just take things slow and try not to shock the environment.