Wood Increasing Ph?

Sillyjady

Hello,
I'm new to this page so here is info about my setup:
-10g
-2 sponge filters (have not been changed in quite some time, I'm mostly using them for oxygen)
-Full spectrum led light bar
-Carbon filter padding cut to fit one end of tank for java moss to creep on
-flourite clay gravel
-live plants: windelov java, java moss, 2 dwarf anubias, 3 crypts
-12 chillI rasboras
-shrimp: 3 bloody mary, 2 blue, 1 Crystal
-I use flourish about 1 time weekly for plants
-I have pest snails and 2 assassin's placed in there recently
-I use Portland city tap water (pH 7, ammonia .225) and prime dechlorinator/ammonia neutralizer

I know it's kind of a wonky setup but it started out as a planted tank test and grew from there. Anyways...

Micro rasboras love lower pH and it tends to really bring out their color. I work at a pet store and we are always preaching about how wood (tannins) lower pH, and coral/shells tend to higher it. So having a pH naturally in my tap of 7.0 I decided to try wood to lower it.
First I added a large (tapered but 12" long) mopanI piece. Some tannins came out. I tested, and my pH had dropped to 6.8 (mind that this was with test strips but it seemed to be going the right direction). Then I did a water change, waited a few more days and tested again. 7.6 oh. Tap still tests at 7.0 and I have never had this high of a pH before. I got a master kit to be certain and it's still high.
So I bought a different drift wood piece
That's about the same size. Again, tannins released, pH dropped to 6.6ish with the master kit and I was fairly happy with the result. 2 water changes and a few days wait later... pH is back at 7.6

I'm stumped, any thoughts?

I know it won't kill my fish/plants/shrimp at this point. But the coloration is poor due to the stress and I just really want to learn more and understand what is happening.

Thanks!

mattgirl

Welcome to fishlore.

The higher PH may not be coming from your driftwood.