with maracyn Help

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by Je55*e, Dec 20, 2009.

1. Je55*e

Je55*e Well Known Member Member

The other day I noticed my Otocinclus had a small whitish, puffy spot on his side. I think it is a fungus (columnaris).

Pictures (sorry for the quality--I only have my cell phone to take pictures):

573.jpg

575.jpg

Earlier tonight, I set up a 3g with heater, filter, air stone and no gravel to put him in tomorrow (waiting for heater to get the temp. up). I put a used cartridge from my 6g in the filter and filled it with 2g of water from the Otto's aquarium and 1g of new water treated with conditioner and Garlic Guard.

I also bought Maracyn by Mardel to treat him with. I've never used this before; would it be ok to put a whole packet into the 3g? The instructions don't say.

I'd really appreciate your help!!!

2. Lucy

Lucy Moderator Moderator Member

I'm sorry your oto is ill.
    If I recall, doesn't 1 packet treat 10g?
    If that's correct, IMO, that would be too much medication to add to a 3g.

3. OP
    OP
    Je55*e

Thanks for replying, Lucy. I didn't see that on the box, but I trust you! :p So I'll add a little less than 1/3. I should just dump that in the water after he gets comfortable, then?

4. Lucy

Lucy Moderator Moderator Member

I just pulled the box out. One packet does treat 10g's.
    I stink at math, so I can't advise how to divide a packet up for a 3g.

5. OP
    OP
    Je55*e

When I worry I tend not to see things in front of my face. >< I'm not so good at math either, but I'll use less than I think I have to, to be safe.

6. Kivstev

Kivstev Valued Member Member

Maracyn is usually ineffective against Columnaris if that is what the fish has (the package says different but I disagree since Columnaris is a gram negative bacteria and Maracyn treats gram positve.)

Maracyn 2 (minocycline), Kanamycin, or Furan 2 are usually more effective antibiotics for this, as are salt baths.