Help Wisteria

jackal

Reaction score
Experience
5 years
Hopefully someone will be able to tell me if my 2 week old Wisteria is going to make it. The lower leaves are dieing off and the lower part of the plant seems void of any new growth. But the top part seem like there was new growth but all those very small leaves have turned black or clear.

About the tank, 29 galleon, Lighting is only a 20Watt Life-Glo T8 Hagen 6700K, Fish only two head and tail lights.

I am really very new to the planted tank ideal so the only other plant in the tank is a java fern and it is doing really well lots of new growth. Now I did replace the lighting just a few days ago as the old one died and I really don’t think it was for a planted tank. Also since the last water change I added plant food to water not really sure if that was the issue but I though it would be a good ideal as it’s a small tank (so did my mom lol). I added a really bad photo of the tank and plant. Please tell me what you see wrong and how I can fix it up.

Attachments

Nutter

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Welcome to Fishlore Jackal

Your Water Wisteria is currently in it's emmersed form (grown above water).

Over the next couple of months it should slowly lose all of it's leaves & new growth should start in the submerged for. I don't think you have anything to worry aobut just yet. It would probably prefer if you could double the amount of light that you currently have but that might not be possible for you.

You should pull that Java Fern up out of the gravel. If it remains buried as it is now, it will eventually die. Pull it up until the rhizome is above the gravel. The rhizome is the thick horizontal root that the leaves sprout up off. When the rhizome is buried, the plant will slowly die. Java Fern is usually attached to decorations or left free floating around the tank.

jackal

Reaction score
Experience
5 years