Will Volcano Rock Hurt My Fish?

KeegansTropiks

Hello all, I got a bargain on volcano rocks and thought it would be cool to create a cave with moss growing over it in my 8 gallon betta tank.

I’ve never used these rocks before and they feel somewhat sharp out of the water. I want to know if these rocks will cause my bettas fins to tear or cause him injuries if he scratches himself against it.
He is currently healing from fin rot aswel so I’m not sure if this is really a good idea….

I’ll send pictures of the rocks and of the tank I plan on putting it in.
Also will these rocks leach any harmful contaminants into the water? (I will boil them before adding too)

Any response and recommendation will be helpful thanks :)

Attachments

• 2F9AC3A4-0D85-4B65-853B-B601B61E5F52.jpeg
    2F9AC3A4-0D85-4B65-853B-B601B61E5F52.jpeg
    294.6 KB · Views: 14
  • 9BAE93FF-BFC9-4FAB-B64F-66BAD06CCBAB.jpeg
    9BAE93FF-BFC9-4FAB-B64F-66BAD06CCBAB.jpeg
    237.3 KB · Views: 14

DoubleDutch

Doesn't look like it contains metals etc..... I'd use them. IMO fish aren't made out of wax and they're not stupid. As long as you prevent wedging when in panic for instance

A201

Lava rock is aquarium safe. I used big chunks of lava rock to construct a reef in a marine tank. Despite it's rough surface, the fish did just fine.

RayClem

Volcanic rocks, also called igneous rocks. are produced as molten magma cools and crystalizes. Depending upon the composition of the magma, you can get a variety of rock types. Silica (quartz and feldspar) is usually the most common component, but there can be carbonates, metals such as magnetite (iron oxide) and corrundum (aluminum oxide) and even kimberlite from which diamonds are sometimes extracted.

Some forms of igneous rocks: lava rock, pumice, and perlite, develop a very high internal surface area as they cool making them ideal for use as biological filter media.