Will This System Design Work?

Chris Osborne
Hey all, I am new to saltwater, but have been in freshwater for years. Having been so I have tons of excessive hardware and stuff, but have no experience with a sump or refugiums. Do you think that this system design will work? Overflow is on the left side. Any advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Salt Water Plan.JPG

stella1979
I have to admit, I have zero experience with sump design, but I think this looks pretty good. The only thing I question is that most sumps I've seen are set up so mechanical filtration takes place first. Usually, the overflow first hits a filter sock or two, before going onto other chambers. I can't say your idea is wrong though, as again, I have no personal experience with sumps. I run a 20 gallon closed system, but I know of a few here who might be more helpful than I. Wild Bill Nart Jayd976 grantm91 Reeferxbetta Sprogladite

DutchAquarium
I would actually move the Chaeto to the live rock and sand area and then put a protein skimmer in the chaeto section. Also you want a shut off valve on the tube running down to the refugium.

Jayd976
I agree with Dutch about moving the chaeto over to the LR section. I do potentially see some issues here. Are you planning the return line to be up that high in the sump or is that just a quick rendering? The reason I ask is as water in sump starts to evaporate the water could fall below your pickup line and burn out your canister from running dry. With that said why a canister and not just a plain return pump if you don't plan on running anything in the canister other than carbon and bioballs? Also, two connected tanks could be a disaster if a seal lets go. Why two connected tanks opposed to one solid tank of equal size?

grantm91