Will This Be Overstocking?

1. n

nick1111 New Member Member

Hello. First time posting. Everything I have read though has been very helpful. I got a new tank and have been cycling it for 2.5 weeks. I plan on getting my water tested next Wednesday and will hopefully get fish then. I have a 10 gallon tank.

My plan right now is to get a few male elephant ear guppies. I also eventually would like some Cory catfish. Would 4/5 male guppies and 3/4 Cory catfish be too much in a 10 gallon? I also will get a few moss balls. Thank you for the advice!

2. andychrissytank

andychrissytank Well Known Member Member

3-4 male elephant ears and 4-6 pygmy cory's would be fine
    it also depends on your filtration

3. Caitlin86

Caitlin86 Well Known Member Member

I'm no stocking expert but i do know the guppies will be fine but the cory cats will not be...a 10g is too small and they r schooling fish which need at least 8 minimum (some ppl claim 6 but considering they school in the thousands i prefer more)

4. BottomDweller

BottomDweller Fishlore VIP Member

Welcome to fishlore!

The pygmy cories need a bigger tank as they are very active fish.

I recommend this instead
    4 guppies
    3-4 Asian stone catfish
    6 amano shrimp

5. etkelly22

etkelly22 Valued Member Member

I agree with the above posters about the cories, they are extremely active, and love to have company.

6. aquatickeeper

aquatickeeper Fishlore VIP Member

Not overstocked. But I see some stocking issues. All cories need a minimum of 20 gallons and a minimum of 6 of their own species. You can do the stock BottomDweller suggested above.

7. James17

James17 Well Known Member Member

Welcome to Fishlore

8. k

kattiq New Member Member

I used a website stocking calculator called AqaAdvisor it helped me tremendously when stocking my 29g. Won't let me post link unfortunately.

9. aquatickeeper

aquatickeeper Fishlore VIP Member

I wouldn't trust Aqadvisor 100%. It's mostly inaccurate.

10. James17