Will they fight during breeding

Fishkeeping7777

So I don’t know if this is too similar to one another threads
but I have a male Betta and I’m planning to get a female I have everything to breed them but I heard they will kill each other I got them as pets not for breeding the only reason I consider it is because I have everything filters heaters tanks I have a 40 gallon breeder I can use as a grow out tank But I as I got them as pets I really don’t want them to die of course and this is my first time ever
breeding any type of fish on purpose

Of course I know they’re fighting fish but I’m talking about for only breeding purposes not for you no Tank mates

I know to put the female in something like a jar or a mesh cage or breeder box while she gets used to the male in the male gets used to her

But I heard sometimes when you let her out the male or she will just kill each other

So I don’t know

Demeter

If you are unsure then don't do it. Breeding them on a whim is not a good idea, best to keep them as just pets and not breeders.

Bettas are not the easiest fish to breed nor raise. You say you have everything you need but do you have live foods to feed the fry? They will not accept liquid or powdered foods, I use vinegar eels, micro worms, paramecium and baby brine shrimp to feed my tiny fry. Do you have lots of spare .5-1gal containers you can keep the males in while also keeping them the ideal 78F and keep up with at least 3 times weekly water changes? Do you have a place to sell/give away all the possible fry you raise up? Keep in mind low quality (the average pet store quality) bettas are very hard to find homes for. If you answer no to any of the above then I suggest you find another species to breed. Rainbows, BN plecos, rice fish, etc are all much easier and less complicated to breed, plus they are easier to sell.