Will My Aquarium Table Support A 20 Gallon Fowlr Setup?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SonsOfGuppies

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Im very concerned and scared about a potential tank collapse if i start one. Im going to reuse my 20 gal tank and my aquarium stand that i have been using for freshwater for 2 years now.
So the aquarium stand supports my freshwater setup fine (its manufactured for aquarium purpose). Been using it for 2 years. Tried rocking it and it only swayed a tiny bit (like 1 millimeter)

My concern is that 20lbs of live rocks i would be adding would put a lot of weight on the stand. The tank would be around 20Ibs heavier...

I don't know, really.

KinsKicks

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Hello!

Well...your tank would be a 200-215lbs. So, ask a friend or family member and have them sit on the stand with you and wiggle around a bit to see if the stand holds. Usually, those sorts so stands are able to hold a bit more than we think, and you should only be worried if there has been water damage or something to compromise the structure.

Hope this helps and best of luck!

Nart

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Kind of a hard question to answer for you without actually being there and weight testing it.

But I will tell you this, by adding 20lbs of rock... you will have less water volume.
So at the end of the day, it's not going to weigh that much more than your freshwater.

Let's do a quick math.

20 gallon empty glass tank weighs about 25lbs.

FW set-up:
You can probably only fit 18 gallons of water in it with no sand or décor in the tank, unless you brim it to the top.
So let's say your freshwater tank weighed a total of (18 gallons x 8.34lbs) + 25lbs = 175.12 lbs

SW set-up:
20lbs rock + 20lbs sand = 40lbs.
Total water volume you'll probably be able to fit in the tank is now around 15 gallons.