Will My 32 Biocube Lighting Support Coral? Question

Discussion in 'Saltwater Aquarium Lighting' started by Kyler9437, Apr 13, 2018.

1. Kyler9437New MemberMember

So im in the process of cycling my tank and I'm doing as much research as possible before I'm ready for fish and coral. I keep hearing about strong lighting and now I'm worried that maybe the stock light on my cube's hood might not be strong enough to support coral and an anemone. I'm reading the booklet that came with my tank and it says:
    PAR 53
    Peak PAR @ 12" 81
    LUX 2200
    Peak LUX @ 12" 3430

Is this good enough for coral and anemone? I'm still pretty new to this stuff so I'm not too sure what this really means.

P.S here is my tank  

Last edited: Apr 13, 2018
  2. thesoulpatch

thesoulpatchWell Known MemberMember

3. stella1979

stella1979ModeratorModerator Member

Corals and anemones are more adaptable to different lighting that we usually think. PAR values under 100 are considered pretty low, so I don't think there's any SPS that would do great, but there are plenty of soft corals and some LPS that prefer lower light. Look into leathers, zoanthids, mushrooms, toadstools, which are all softies, as well as acanthastrea, favias, trumpets and euphyllia, (LPS corals.) These corals may be kept under higher lighting at stores, so would have to adapt to the lower lighting in your tank. This means they may be unhappy for a while after you get them home. I would suggest taking it slow, starting with a softie or two to see how it goes. If it goes well, try a more difficult coral like an LPS and give it some time before adding more.