Will I need a bigger tank? Question

1. roob Initiate Member

Hello,

I am an almost complete newbie, I was given for my birthday (beginning of December) a tank that is 12 gallons(US), in it was...

7 Zebra Danio
    5 Gold Barbs
    1 Chinese Algae Eater
    2 Snails

I am quite conscious to make sure that im not keeping animals that are stressed or unhappy with their environment, so I bought a filter, plants, and got some driftwood and rocks and some coral rubble from the local store. I have done some research about my fish, and they all seem to need room to be lively. I think that they are alright at the moment, as they are quite small, but will I need a bigger tank when they grow up?

I appreciate any help, Im keen to learn more about this new hobby!

Roob

2. Fishzone08 Member Member

welcome to fishlore!
    Your tank is way overstocked.
    The CAE will grow huge so its best to get rid of that, just give it to your local fish store. Even with just your 7 danios in your tank you would be overstocked. It usually goes by every inch of fish to your amount of gallons in your tank, so the danios would grow to 2 inches so thats 2 gallons out of your 12 gallons.
    If I were you I would do this;
    4 Danios
    6 Neon tetra
    2 Snails
    That would be a good fun enjoyable setup.
    Hope it has helped you.

3. platy ben Well Known Member Member

Hello roob, welcome to fishlore :)

For all of those fish (if you get rid of the chinese algae eater as advised) you will need a 20G tank atleast

4. AlyeskaGirl Fishlore VIP Member

Hello Welcome to fishlore! :;hi1