Will Assassin snails hurt fish? Question

Discussion in 'Snails' started by Junne, Dec 2, 2012.

1. Junne

Junne Fishlore Legend Member

Will Assassin snails hurt fish? Specifically my betta. For some odd reason, my betta loves this corner of the tank and the Assassin snail happens to be there - has been there the last 2 days.
    Here's a picture..... Is my Betta safe????? This is my first time owning an Assassin - just got him 4 days ago.
    Thanks!

20121202_163327.jpg

2. Ethan

Ethan Well Known Member Member

i don't think it will at least i have never heard of a assassin snail hurting a fish :) i might have to get an assassin snail or 2.... they eat mts right?

3. B

Borisbbadd Guest

To the best of my knowledge, no.

4. OP
    OP
    Junne

Gosh I hope you're right! He keeps going over to that corner but of course, every time I come up to the glass, he comes out like, "nothing! I'm not doing anything!"

Yes, they eat MTS. I've only had my one Assassin for 4 days and so far, I see 2 empty adult mts shells and he is working on his 3rd right now....... Sneaky guy too!!! Buries himself under the sand and lies in wait.....

5. Ethan

Ethan Well Known Member Member

ugh i want one so bad now. lol

6. FoulFishes

FoulFishes Valued Member Member

Maybe my Assassin Snails are just whimpy, but they dont hurt anybody, they get picked on! Haha, the Loaches just plow them over carelessly, and i've caught my Ghost Shrimps bullying them a few times. So i'd say you should be safe. They are really slow anyway.

7. monkeypie102

monkeypie102 Well Known Member Member

Well Junne as you know I have a group of them and my betta prefers to lay on the plant the females have claimed to lay their eggs on... and the only time I have seen an assassin "eating" a fish/shrimp in the tank is when it was dead and they were to lazy to catch a snail to feed on... so no Mr. Betta is safe :D

8. Y

Yeoy Well Known Member Member

Your betta is beautiful! And I am sure he will be safe :)

9. OP