Wild plants in home aquarium?

1. MysticWaters Initiate Member

Hi, well I hope I put this in the right place. Anyways, I was wondering if it would be possible to take wild plants from a pond/lake and put them in my aquarium. Can this be done? I'm somewhat new to live plants but I do know the basics. Any suggestions about which plants would be best is also helpful. I should mention that I live in New England... Thanks for you help in advance!

Hi! I'm new!

2. dcutl002 Well Known Member Member

It can be done. My concern would be the introduction of "critters" into the tank.

3. MysticWaters Initiate Member

I have heard of putting collected plants into a bucket of 9 parts water and 1 part bleach for 2-3 minutes and then soaking in a dechlorinator for half an hour. Is this correct and would this get rid of all bacteria and parasites?

4. dcutl002 Well Known Member Member

If I used anything, it would be Hydrogen Peroxide mixed with water. I am sure that bleach will work, but I am afraid of using it.

5. MysticWaters Initiate Member

Ok, I was nervous about using the bleach myself, I was worried about my fish gettting killed by the chemicals. When using the Hydrogen Peroxide would it be 9 parts water and 1 part Hydrogen Peroxide, or just Hydrogen Peroxide in a bucket? Also, how long would I leave the plants in there?

6. FishTank Maniacz Well Known Member Member

I wouldn't worry about the bleach. As long as you give em a rinse and use dechlorinator you'll be fine. I'm not sure about the hydrogen peroxide though.....

7. MysticWaters Initiate Member

ok, thanks for the help you two!

8. Rivieraneo Moderator Moderator Member

A bath in potassium permegrate would work as well. Some plants can be sensitive to bleach, though PP is also an oxidizer similar to bleach, I would take a small sample of the plant and try giving the sample a bath first and see if there are any direct effects on it so you dont ruin your plants.