Wierd Film On Top Aquarium Water.

w_johnson07

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
It is a white film and it looks kind of grainy substance on the top of the water and I can’t scoop it out or get rid of it. Any ideas on what it is and what I should do to get rid of it. My Betta doesn’t seem to be phased by it but I still don’t like it

danhutchins

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
w_johnson07 said:
It is a white film and it looks kind of grainy substance on the top of the water and I can’t scoop it out or get rid of it. Any ideas on what it is and what I should do to get rid of it. My Betta doesn’t seem to be phased by it but I still don’t like it
Could you post a pic? Never heard of white grainy substances on the water but I'm still learning myself. Do you have good water movement? I used to get an oily substance on my water but I got a good powerhead and haven't seen it since.

BettaFishKeeper4302

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
w_johnson07 said:
It could possibly be a bubble nest from your betta. If your betta is a male it will make a bubble aka white nest on the surface. That means they want to breed with another fish. This tends to go away after a little while. It does not affect water. Hope this helped!

w_johnson07

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
danhutchins said:
Could you post a pic? Never heard of white grainy substances on the water but I'm still learning myself. Do you have good water movement? I used to get an oily substance on my water but I got a good powerhead and haven't seen it since.
It looks oily and that’s wha it meant but I couldn’t think of the word

AquaticJ

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 years
Take a paper towel and lay it across the surface of the water. It's likely some sort of soap from your hands. Among other harmless things.

Thunder_o_b

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years