Why so many water changes with Discus?

OhioFishKeeper

I don't have Discus, but aspire to get there some day. I definitely want to fully understand the responsibility before going down that road.

Jack Wattley Discus on YouTube says 1 fish per 10 gallons, Mid 80s for temp, varied diet, and 20% water changes per week with vacuuming up all the debris. This seems very manageable. On the other had, the daily high volume water changes and cleaning I'm reading about in this forum is something I don't think I want to take on at this time.

Why are the extreme water changes necessary? If you have a fully cycled tank with 0/0/and less than 20 N03, why is the water needing to be changed so much? And if it's the NO3, what about one of these tanks with a deep bed and driftwood that supposed to denitrify and keep NO3 at zero?

ppate1977

I'm no expert, but from what I understand ANY fluctuations are difficult on discuss. I think you want to keep nitrates below 10ppm. Someone will chime in that knows more. Good luck.

TClare

I have wondered the same, I believe the daily water changes are important when they are juveniles, not so much as adults. I once asked this question in my lfs and was told that it is because they eat a lot and are very messy eaters. I suppose in the higher temperatures that they need decomposition of uneaten food and fish waste will take place more quickly. I am sure 86 ssinit will be able to explain more fully.

SparkyJones

the extreme water changes is because nobody including Jack Wattley keeps 10 fish per 100 gallons of water. For beginners 1 fish per 10 gallons, it's the easiest introduction because the learning curve is steep on how it has to be maintained for optimal color, health and growth.
1 per 10g, that's just not the reality of Discus keeping for anyone that keeps them really.