Question Why rinse filter cartridge in aquarium water?

JettsPapa

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello,

I'm new to all this, and have a lot of questions (as some of you may have noticed). I know some people's personalities allow them to blindly take advice without explanation, but I'm not one of them, which leads me to today's question.

I've seen several posts here that recommend rinsing filter cartridges in the water that's been removed during a water change, but I haven't seem anyone explain why. I understand that exchanging a used cartridge for a new one will cause the loss of beneficial bacteria, but why not rinse the filter in clean water? Does that also cause a bacteria loss?

kallililly1973

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
Not a scientist but rinsing and ringing your filter media out in tank water will allow less of a chance of losing your BB compared to cleaning it out in tap water which could contain chlorine and chlorimine which could kill off some of your BB... Again not a scientist. but its worked for me cleaning my media in tank water.

JettsPapa

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Yes. chlorine will eradicate and slap that nitrogen cycle down the drain.
I hadn't thought of that until seeing your first post. I have well water so it's not an issue for me, which is probably why I didn't think of it sooner.

JettsPapa

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Do you dechlorinate your well water? It could possibly contain heavy metals still.
No, I don't. My daughter-in-law has had success keeping fish for about a year using water from the same well, so I assume it's okay.

JettsPapa

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Now that I've gotten all those great answers (and thank you), I have a related question. Is there any standard answer for how often I should rinse it? I assume it will vary from one tank to another, but can it be done too often?