Why Might My Fantails & Comets Keep Dying?

Status
Not open for further replies.

daveo

Reaction score
Hi guys

I'm new to fishkeeping and have a recurring problem with my fantails and comets dying. I'm looking for ideas on the possible cause...

I have a 30L (8 gallon) freshwater tank. The tank has 6 danios who have been in there for 6 months+ and are fine. At any one time I also have a single comet or fantail.

Every few months the comet or fantail dies. 4 deaths now. The symptoms seem to be the same - fins clamped for a day, hiding motionless at the bottom for a day, dies a day or two later.

The tank has been cycled and stable for 9 months. Every week I get identical results: Ph 7.6, Ammonia 0, Nitrites 0, Nitrates 10-20 (I can't tell which - the colour chart colours for 10 and 20 look identical on my API Freshwater Master Test Kit). Water temp about 21c (70f). There's some unplanted, live Brazilian waterweed in the tank.

I do 10L water changes every weekend and clean algae off the glass. Before adding the new water to the tank, I add 1.3ml API Stress Coat (left for 5 minutes before adding anything else), 0.6ml Seachem Flourish (for the waterweed) and 0.6ml Seachem Stability. I've tried both using and not using Aquarium Salt. The waterweed gets replaced when it stops looking bright and green.

The fish get fed daily with a few pinches of Aqua One Goldfish flakes. The danios are fast and greedy, but I always make sure the comet/fantail gets a flake or two.

My local aquarium expert has tested the water and agrees that the chemistry seems fine.

I'm stumped and beginning to feel guilty about replacing the victims. Any ideas on what it could be or what I could try?

This is Mavis. I'm hoping I can keep her alive and healthy for longer than Fantail, Zap, Oranges and Paris.

20180915_173245.jpg

Thanks!
Daveo, Melbourne, Australia.

One last detail I forgot to include: The tank has an under-gravel filter and built-in pump. It's an .

Last edited by a moderator: