Why dosen't my tank cycle 10 Gallon Tank

Discussion in 'Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle' started by cmull47, Mar 27, 2010.

1. c

cmull47 New Member Member

I'm new to keeping fish. I got my son a 10 gal tank for Christmas. Of course I had know idea what I was doing, and found out about this site and the nitrogen cycle about a week after starting.

I started with 4 blood fin tetras, 4 cherry barbs, a beta, and was given 2 black skirt tetras, all in my 10 gal tank. Of course I had the fish before I knew this was the wrong thing to do.

I've been making 25% water changes every 2 or three days, and when the ammonia get up, I use ammonia clear (similar to ammo lock).

I have an API master test kit and test about every day or two. Thr ammonia varies from 0.25 to 1.0 all the time, but I've just started reading nitrite in the last week.

Tonight's readings are:
    ammonia 1.0
    nitrite 0.25
    nitrate 20
    ph 7.2

These were before a 25% water change.

It has been almost 3 month, and I'm still reading ammonia. Also, I'm just beginning to see nitrites.

Why is it taking so long for the tank to cycle?

Do frequent water changes slow the process?

If I forget to add conditioner to the new water, can the chlorine kill the bacteria?

Can I add to much conditioned?

Can the API test go bad?

Do I have too many fish for this tank? Can that make ammonia stay present?

My fish all appear to look healthy and happy. They just swim around and hang out. I don't see any signs of stress, no red gills, no sucking air.

I did have one bout with a white fungus on the side of one fish about two months ago, but I treated it and haven't had any probelms since.

:;dk

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Chris

2. x

xxSTEPHENSxx Valued Member Member

Welcome to fishlore! I can answer a few questions.

My 10 gal is still cycling after 1 1/2 months with fish in it. My 55gal just completed today(27 days) with no fish.