Why does my Amazon sword suck?

elisa001

Reaction score
Hi guys I am new to planted tanks and was looking for a lost cost planted tank when I set up my 10 gallon. It has a cheap (like 20$) light on a 12 hour timer. I have eco complete plant substrate with root tabs. The tank has Anubias that are doing great and java fern that are ok. When I set up the tank I didn’t know anything and put SO MANY root tabs and so I have an algae problem.

I had 1 Amazon sword that I put in like 4 months ago. It hasn’t died but it has shrunk in size. It sprouts tiny new leaves all the time but they don’t get that big and die off fast. The leaves are very fragile and slimy I am considering just throwing the plant and getting another Anubias. What can I do to help the Amazon sword?

Attachments

Pwilly07

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
elisa001 said:
Hi guys I am new to planted tanks and was looking for a lost cost planted tank when I set up my 10 gallon. It has a cheap (like 20$) light on a 12 hour timer. I have eco complete plant substrate with root tabs. The tank has Anubias that are doing great and java fern that are ok. When I set up the tank I didn’t know anything and put SO MANY root tabs and so I have an algae problem.

I had 1 Amazon sword that I put in like 4 months ago. It hasn’t died but it has shrunk in size. It sprouts tiny new leaves all the time but they don’t get that big and die off fast. The leaves are very fragile and slimy I am considering just throwing the plant and getting another Anubias. What can I do to help the Amazon sword?