Why do water changes?

Tryne

Hello, I've got a question about water changes in my tank.

I'm only 6 months into my first tank, but everything is going very well, not losing any livestock for months now. It's honestly great and I'm surprised it went so well so far.
This is also an experience before I get a bigger tank. I wanted to start with a small 30L one first and see how it goes.

Heavily planted and well stocked. No overfeeding.

For now 4 months, whenever I do a water test, I get 0/0/0 readings.
I use a Multi-Test Kit from NT Labs + have a bottle JBL Aquatest strips just in case and to compare readings. Same readings on both.

I just did the test again yesterday, after not having changed water for 5 weeks now. 0/0/0
Again, everything looks well to me but I'm a newbie so that might not mean much.
There's also dried leaves in there for their medical and nutritional purpose, so the water is a little bit colored, which is fine to me.

So I would like to know, is there any other reason to do water changes?

I already posted this yesterday in the videos section but for reference, I will link it here again so you can see what it looks like right now and if you see anything wrong in there:

Thank you for your help as always.

SouthAmericanCichlids

Well there are other nutrients that plants and fish pull out of the water, that will deplete overtime I believe. But there is always the Diana walstad method. And I know some yt peeps don't ever change water on some of their indoor ponds.

AggressiveAquatics

When you do water changes your replacing the nutrients that your plants and fish are using in the water. I think your tank looks great by the way

MacZ

There is more in the water than can be tested by the average hobbyist.

Many things have to be removed, some have to be re-added, like minerals.
High waste amounts in the water are also an invitation for pathogens to reproduce.