Why Do My Oscars Keep Dying?? Help

Discussion in 'Oscars' started by MarkBishop, Jul 8, 2019.

1. MarkBishop

MarkBishopNew MemberMember

Hello everyone, this is my first post.

Let me start by saying I have had aquariums before with little or no issues. This one is giving me a serious headache.

I have a 55 gallon tank with an "Penn Plax Cascade 1200 GPH Canister Filter", and a "300w in-Line External Heater". I also have about 2 inches of typical aquarium gravel, several fake plants, and one big fake rock ornament from Petco.

I have been cycling the tank for several months with immature guppies and filter media from my other tank. The tank currently has 3 immature guppies in it (a month old - each almost an inch long). I initially bought this new tank to have an Oscar (I have had them in the past and love them!) that would eat the fry because my other tank is getting overpopulated.

I use an API FRESHWATER MASTER TEST KIT to check my parameters and have finally achieved the following results:
    Ph - 7.6 to 7.8
    Ammonia - 0ppm
    Nitrite - 0ppm
    Nitrate - 0ppm

Using the test strips I get the following:
    GH (General Hardness) - between 120 and 180
    KH (Carbonate Hardness) - Around 120

I keep the tank around 78.6 degrees F

For better or worse, I use aquarium salt in all my tanks. I also use API Quick Start and Stress Coat when adding the new fish and with water changes. When I add new fish I typically open the bag and roll the edges down and float them in the tank for about 20 minutes, and then for the next 2 or 3 hours I add about a quarter cup of water every 15 or 20 minutes before I net them and add them to the tank to slowly get them acclimated to the new ph and water variables.

So, as I said before I have had at least three guppies in the tank thriving for the last month or so. I had been using a lot of guppy fry in the tank until I got the cycle completed. They were dying quite often until the numbers for cycling fixed themselves.