Why Did My Betta Die?

1. Heavy Metal Lion

Heavy Metal Lion Valued Member Member

Hello, I'm new to the aquarium hobby, but I've had my betta for about 3 months now. He was a gorgeous koi betta with a calm, friendly personality.
    • A couple of weeks ago, I upgraded him from a 2.6 gal tank to a 10 gallon tank and then last week, i added some tank mates (6 Neon Tetras, 2 zebra danios and 1 oto cat). He seemed to love his new room mates and no one ever bothered him.
    • 2 nights ago, when I went to feed them, he was sitting near the heater at the back of the tank and came up to me, but didn't eat. he then swam to the bottom and laid down on a rock on his side. he's never done that before (that i know of). He didn't move for several minutes. I watched a pellet of food fall on him and even a neon tetra brush against him, and still he didn't move. This worried me, so i grabbed my net and stuck it in there and as soon as it touched his fin he got up and started swimming again. I noticed then that his normally very pale pink/white head was a darker pink color, but he was recently in tannin filled water and i heard that it brings out their color, so i didn't think anything of it.
    • last night, i came home from work and he was at the top of the tank, with his mouth out of the water. he remained at the top the entire night, mostly just floating, but occasionally darting from one side of the tank to the other. He still didn't eat. I did some research online and thought maybe he was constipated from overeating due to his behavior, but i wasn't 100% sure.
    • Today when i woke up, he was dead. This is when I really noticed that his head was a much darker pink than the rest of his body, yet his lips were still white.
    Does anyone know what has happened? my mother used to breed bettas and she has no idea what happened to a seemingly healthy and happy betta fish. RIP my sweet Nova. (Attached is a picture of him from his 2.5 gal, with his normal light pink coloring)