White stuff growing on black moor

1. xfrozen Initiate Member

Hello,

I posted this in a different forum for as long as it has been happening, but no one knew what was happening, so I am hoping that someone here will know.

My black moor has had a problem where white stuff (I thought was columnaris) has been growing on him for the past month or so now. Everything cleared up after I treated him with some medication, Mardel Maracyn powder. It was clear for a week and now it came back...

I did a 50% water change yesterday. Everything (ammonia, nitrates, nitrites) are 0.

Here are some links for what it looks like:
    Picture 1

Picture 2

2. I keep fish Well Known Member Member

Welcome to fishlore!:;hi2
    First off what size tank is it.And how long as it been up?
    Thats looks to be fin rot.Im not sure of that as im not that experienced but others will come along.

3. slashgash Member Member

It looks to me like fin rot as well. Have you seen any redness near the white?

4. xfrozen Initiate Member

Thanks :) It's a 29 gallon tank. I only bought the tank when this happened, so it has been set up for over a month now (with the fish).

And nope, haven't seen any red at all.

edit: Should I perhaps buy the medication I had, again? It was for several different illnesses including fin rot.

It has spread to his mouth now.

edit: I have just found "Maracyn-TC" which is for popeye, fin and tail rot, and gill disease. The site that I found it on has pictures relatively close to what my fish has, so maybe it is very well fin rot like the two of you think.

edit.. again: this is what he looks like right now:
    http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/7914/dsc01940k.jpg

5. xfrozen Initiate Member

I'm going to buy Melafix later today based on the positive reviews I've read.

6. snapper Well Known Member Member

It looks like fin rot to me too. If it isn't clearing up with large daily water changes, I would hit it with Maracyn/Maracyn 2 combo.