White Stringy Poo

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by NancyD, Apr 19, 2018.

1. N

NancyD New Member Member

Hello, so a while ago I had a tank with a blue gourami fish and a couple mollie s. My gourami had this long white stringy poo from the start when I got him, and he soon died and it spread to the rest of the tank and whipped them all out. I looked it up and think it could internal parasites.

Anyway, I recently got a new aquarium, bran new aquarium, bran new rocks, bran new fish, etc. I got rid of all the other rocks, not wanting any chance of these parasites getting to my new fish. Today I bought a twig catfish, (this is my very first time having one so if anyone has any basic care tips feel free to share), but not 10 minutes after I put him in the tank with my two mollies did I notice that he has this long line of white stringy poo. What is this and how can I get rid of it? Somebody please help!

Other details, my algae eater is the only survivor from my previous fish epidemic and I have him in his own separate tank away from these new fish just in case he has it too. After seeing the white stringy poo, I put my twig catfish in with him as quarantine to prevent it from spreading to my mollies. Was this a bad idea? What else can I do?

2. M

Madeline Peterson New Member Member

Start by testing your water. Odd colored poop can be caused by stress, and the most common source of stress is bad water. What were you feeding the original fish? What is the water temperature?

Also, are there any other symptoms? Are the fish too fat or too thin? How do their scales look? How about their fins and tail?

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 19, 2018
  3. Iridium_2256

Iridium_2256 Valued Member Member