Which Fish Should I add

ixxkepxxi

Reaction score
So after reading reviews from my last post, I have decided to upgrade to a 20 Gallon. I have 1 Female Betta at the moment. Which fish do you guys recommend me adding? I was also thinking about adding a couple live plants.

Mongo75

Well Known
Reaction score
I'm not a Betta person, but you may want to try a male betta. I stand to be corrected :).
EDITED:: I have been corrected :D :arghh:

Then, just about any peaceful community fish but do your research, and avoid any fin nippers.

DuaneV

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
If you already have a Betta and you want to keep it with the community, you might be okay, might not. I dont usually start a community tank with a Betta as they can be territorial when adding new fish. For the most part, Ive never had a Betta in a community tank that caused trouble though, so take that for what you will. And Ive been keeping Bettas for over 30 years and had well over a hundred Bettas (probably hundreds). Currently have 9, 4 in community tanks.

One thing that's tricky is picking fish that are temp compatible. The majority of problems I see people having with Bettas are either due to water quality or keeping them in water that's too cold. I have found that my Bettas live longer and healthier lives at 80/82 degrees. That means I cant/dont keep them with 2 of the more popular fish in the trade: Neons and Guppies. My son has kept Guppies & Bettas together a few times, but it makes the Guppies metabolism rise which makes them eat more, poop more, makes them more active and cuts their lives short. If you dont mind losing Guppies around one and a half years old, go for it.