which filters best?

charlie092

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi

I'm new to keep tropical fish, have had a complete disaster with it so far :'( so thought I would ask some advice! We currently have a 60 litre tank which at the moment only has 1 betta fish and 1 dwarf gouramI in it due to us losing 9 of our fish over the last 2-3 mths. We have the elite underwater stingray 15 filter but I'm not sure I'm entirely happy with it. Could anyone recommend the best sort of filter for my sized tank? I'm hoping to re stock it once I have sorted the problem out that is killing my fish so would like to find a filter in the meantime!

thanks

platy ben

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
My favourite filter I have is a Fluval U3, this type of filter would be too powerful for your tank, but a smaller Fluval may be good

Also, I strongly suggest removing your betta from the tank. Bettas and dwarf gouramis should never be kept together.
My advice would be to take back the dwarf gouramI and betta to the fish store and start over.
What are your readings for ammonia, Nitrite and nitrate?

dyco619

Reaction score
Experience
2 years
I would say that your problem is the betta, betta fish should not be kept with other fish especially gourami, that's like keeping it with another betta, I would leave the betta on its own or remove it,

charlie092

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
hi, unfortunatly the pet store I got them both from said they would be fine together! I actually have another topic in the freshwater beginners bit where I was informed that they do not get on! I'm in the process of finding another tank for the betta. I believe my problem is the water though at the moment, ive ordered my own testing kit and am going to get the water checked tomorrow whilst I'm waiting for the kit to be delivered.
I will have a look for a fluval aswell thanks.

platy ben

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years