Which Filter To Buy

Discussion in 'Filters and Filtration' started by Kate.M, Apr 10, 2017.

1. K

Kate.M New Member Member

Hello.
    We got a 10 gallon Aqueon tank for 2 goldfish a little while ago. I want to change the original filter since I dont think its a good one. I need your recommendation for a good canister filter please.
    FYI the tank is planted and we use gravel. 20170410_163936.jpg

2. Bizarro252

Bizarro252 Well Known Member Member

I have used Marineland and Fluval canisters, liked them both but like my Fluvals more :) A sized one for your tank in the 06 line would be great for you. Make sure you run your old filter along with it for a month or so, or (if you can) move sponges/bio material from your old filter to the canister, then you will not have to run both.

I am not experienced with goldfish but I do not think a 10gal is large enough, will have to get someone else to comment there, but good idea on the canister, I do know they can be big waste producers.

3. Platies n friends

Platies n friends New Member Member

4. OP
    OP
    K

Kate.M New Member Member

Thank u very much for your reply.
    Yeah, I was thinking to run both filters together for a month.
    Regarding the number of fish, I learned that this tank is small AFTER we did set up everything :( and the reason why I am looking for a more efficient filter is this.
    We do partial water change every 3-4 days to make up for the small space. We certainly change the tank after we graduate from the learning period :)

5. FishFish221

FishFish221 Well Known Member Member

Two fancy goldfish need at least a 30 gallon (or 29) aquarium to be healthy and properly develop.

6. BeanFish

BeanFish Well Known Member Member

Those look like common goldfish which need a pond :(.
    You can get the best filter in planet earth, 10 gal is small for them to grow.