When will my swordtail recover?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Forums' started by Victreal, Aug 8, 2015.

1. VictrealValued MemberMember

Hi!

I'm new to fishlore and I'm new to owning fish
    So i originally had 5 tetras in a tank with about 20 gallons in it, then yesterday i decided to stock the tank up with 3 new fish. 1 blue tuxedo guppy, 1 bumblebee fish and this poor lyre tail swordtail.

The 3 new fish seemed to get along fine, but it seemed over 1 night the neon tetras ripped up the poor swordtails fin and top tail. it doesnt swim up anymore and is just lurking around the bottom. It still eats if i take mircopellets, wet them, compress them and crush it in front of it.

I was just wondering if it will recover? or if not what should i do? i dont like to see it suffer like this :(

thanks for any help or advice

image.jpgimage.jpg

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 8, 2015
  2. Coradee

CoradeeModeratorModerator Member

Welcome to Fishlore :)
    I rotated the pics for you.
    Swordtails could do with a bit more room than a twenty gallon, I'd suggest upgrading if you can, in the meantime
    good clean water will help his fins heal & upping the number of neons you have may help their nippiness as they'll be more inclined to bicker amongst themselves.

3. OP
    OP
    V

VictrealValued MemberMember

Thanks for the advice when you say clean approximately how much ammonia should be in the tank? is 0.1 - 0.2 ppm too much?

4. Coradee

CoradeeModeratorModerator Member

Any ammonia is too much, I would suggest doing a water change of at least 50%.
    I'd also test your tap water to make sure that isn't the source of the ammonia.

5. Anders247

Anders247Fishlore LegendMember

Welcome to fishlore!
    What test kit are you using? (if any)

6. Thunder_o_b

Thunder_o_bFishlore VIPMember

Greetings and welcome :)

There are some issues you face here.