Question When / What can I add?!

turnonthebrightlights

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi all

I'm new to this fish keeping game, and have a couple of quick questions...

I have a 23l Fluval edge that I bought at the beginning of March this year. My Nitrite & Ammonia Levels are 0, PH of about 7.1ish and Nitrate seems to fluctuate regularly between 0 and 10. I currently have 4 assorted male Platys in the tank, who seem to be loving it in there, and are really lively.

My question is, when would be a good time to add some more fish (I am only looking at adding 2 more species - one a plec in a month or so, and 2-3 of something else)? What would be my best bet? Are Guppies / Endlers hardy, and will they get on with the Platys? I don't want the fish to breed, as there's not enough room, so am looking for all males preferably.

Cheers

harpua2002

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Welcome to FL!

Unfortunately, I'd say your tank is over maximum capacity already. When your platies reach adult size, it's going to be hard to keep water quality up with all that bioload.

I would not suggest adding anything else unless you return some of the fish you have. Also, there is no species of pleco that is suitable for a 23L tank.

Lucy

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Welcome to FishLore!!
Looks to me like you're pretty well stocked, actually over stocked. Platys can grow to be 2 inches or so and would do better in a 10g.

I wouldn't recommend adding anything. Maybe a couple of shrimp since they don't carry much of a bio load.

turnonthebrightlights

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi

Thanks guys.

Kinda wish the shop had told me that when I bought them!

I was actually also thinking about shrimp. would a few be ok? if so, what type?

To be honest, if it is a choice between adding different species at the expense of what I have already, I'll stick with the Platys... I love those guys!

Thanks

Greg

Lucy