When to take out of QT and add to main tank?

1. nexigen

nexigen Valued Member Member

3-4 weeks ago I bought 3 Ottos and put them in a Quarantine Tank for observation. I wanted to make sure they're healthy before adding them to my algae-overrun main tank. I began adjusting temperature in my main tank Monday, preparing for acclimation of the Ottos (cooling it down for them). Yesterday, unfortunately, one of the Ottos died. Not sure why really, but the thread is still in the FW disease forum.

Anyway, two are left. I've been supplementing their diet with Zuchinni the past couple of weeks. There's minimal amounts of algae left in the QT. After yesterday's episode, my girlfriend doesn't want me to add them to the main tank until we're sure again that they're healthy and not going to make our Betta sick. I don't know what "good health" signs I'm looking for. One seems possibly bloated still, or just fat, or maybe just female, I'm still new to this so I don't really know.

2. LyndaB

LyndaB Fishlore Legend Member

Otos are supposed to have fat bellies. That means they're eating well. It's not unusual to lose one this early in the game. They are that sensitive.

How long has the betta tank been up and running? Otos demand rock steady water parameters.

3. apple429

apple429 Well Known Member Member

Well I don't QT, I don't have enough tanks yet (in my opinion), but I would say to quarantine them for another month or so. Just simply because once disease starts in your main tank, it can be a pain to get rid of... that's just my input. And besides it's not like your car sitting in your garage and you want to go for a drive in it, so you go.
    These are fish, living creatures, so if you be patient, and you generally have more success in this hobby!

Hope this helps!

4. OP
    OP
    nexigen

Main has been up for 3-4 months, was fully cycled as well. I used the substrate from one that was running since December. Tons of algae in it too - need my cleaning crew! :D