When to do the first water change?

1. dawnearly Initiate Member

I have had my tank for 2 weeks. I got the "freshwater master test kit" today and did my first tests. The ph was at 7.2 the nitrates were at 0 the nitrites were at 0 and the high ph was between 7.4 and 7.8. Ok I think that is good, from what I understand from the booklet. I don't know how to tell though when my tank is done "cycling". When I do my first water change can I leave the fish in there, or do I need to take them out? And do I want to get a hose cyphoning kit? So many questions....hopefully someone with more knowledge than me will be able to help !!!

2. Janmitch22 Member Member

I'll try to help, but I'm a beginner as well. Are there fish in your tank right now? Because at the end of cycling, the nitrates should be up there, but your nitrites and ammonia should be around 0. Am I right, y'all?

Did your tank water go all foggy? I think that's a good sign that your tank is cycling. Sometimes it takes a little while to build up enough waste to kickstart the cycle. If your nitrates and nitrites are both at zero, I think maybe you haven't started yet. Did you see the cycling link from fishlore's homepage?

But when you do your water change, you can leave the fish in. Just maneuver around them. It's always a hassle moving fish, especially the fast ones!

It's much easier to get a gravel syphon. You can really get the poop and old food out with it. Once you get the suction going, you've got your bucket ready to receive, then you dump the old water and refill and so on.

3. Butterfly Moderator Moderator Member

Janmitch22 you covered everything right down the line. Good info all.
    Dawnearly it usually takes four to six weeks to cycle a tank with fish.
    Carol

4. Janmitch22 Member Member

Whew, didn't want to lead her astray.