When to add plants?

1. Robb85 Initiate Member

Hi, I am new in the hobby.
    I still havent bought anything, in fact, I had an aquarium like a decade ago, when I was 14, and all my fish died, it was a very small tank, and actually at the pet store, they didnt told me of anything of this cycle.

So, as I intend to give it another go, but first i want to read everything possible, in order to have a successful tank this time.

Well, I intend to build up an Amazonian type of tank this time, but I really want to have natural plants in it. I also intend to do the fishless cycle to spare some fish souls and also some money :), but I dont know in which time to plant that plants, hehehehe.

During the ammonia peak, or the nitrite peak, nitrate peak? after the mayor water change? before the fish?

Hehehe, I know, I have lots of questions.

Thanks for reading
    Robb :)

2. Aquarist Fishlore Legend Member

Hello Robb and Welcome to Fish Lore. Personally I would go ahead and add the plants when you fill the tank. They will help you along with the cycle too. I'm sure you'll get some more responses. A link you may find helpful:
    http://www.aquabotanic.com/plants_and_biological_filtration.htm
    Best wishes and I hope you can share some photos along the way if you have the means!
    Ken

3. peacemaker92 Well Known Member Member

Just want to Welcome you to Fishlore.

WELCOME TO FISHLORE! :;wv

4. TedsTank Well Known Member Member

Welcome to our family!! Nice to have you join FishLore.

I agree with the above, it is much easier to add your plants now and driftwood and decorations before the fish.

It is easier to get everything setup and adjusted for decor...including the plants before the fish are added....when your cycle is complete and the fish are added, they will adjust much faster without being in there while you move plants in and around to get that perfect look you want.

5. gunner13 Well Known Member Member