When did you start your first aquarium?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ay1a, Apr 8, 2010.

1. A

Ay1a Valued Member Member

Hey everyone, just a thread for fun... when did you start your first aquarium?
    Mine was started when I was 14 (current age) and on March 26th 2010.
    This is my first one ever so I'm pretty new to the hobby but everything is looking great for me so far... all I need to do is get a ride to a LFS to save a Betta from it's small cup.

2. pepetj

pepetj Well Known Member Member

Hi BettaLuvhr, nice thread.

My first aquarium was a 10gal starter kit that in my memory looked like a 20gal. I don't recall the exact date but I know I was 7 years old and my first fish was a pair of native guppies (not Fancy). At age 23 I stopped fishkeeping after a major disaster (a young female cat killed most of my fish in the pond). I returned 20 years later, in April 2009 (as I joined Fishlore) setting the first (of... ehem... currently 15 cycled tanks) in May 2008. I'm 45 (so you don't have to do the math).

Pepetj
    Santo Domingo

3. OP
    OP
    A

Wow! You've been into it for quite some time. :O
    And 15 tanks, must be a case of MTS. :p But seems like some work taking care and monitoring 15 tanks.

Also aren't you the person who had the fish who was bleeding internally? If so I hope he's doing ok. :)

4. Furallicah

Furallicah Well Known Member Member

Lets see.....my first tank was back when I was three, it had one fancy tailed goldfish. It was a 5gal. Well after keeping the fish for 3 years it died on me. 12 years later here I am with 7 tanks, and I still have that 5gal tank which is now home to my betta Plato lol.

5. OP
    OP
    A

Wow, seems like a lot of everyone here on FL has a lot of tanks and has been in the hobby for quite some time.
    Glad I'm on board with everyone.

6. Aquarist

Aquarist Fishlore Legend Member

Good morning,