What's up with this current in my tank? Also, fish breed I.D., please

1. puppyduks Initiate Member

I started a new thread now that I have gotten my 10gallon tank set up and ready for fish. I now have in my tank two guppies. One is suposed to be a green cobra guppy but he looks yellow to me. Anyway, he is very pretty. And another guppy that the store said was a cobra guppy but I don't think it is. It's got a yellow/pinkish/silver head and shoulders, black abdomen to the base of tail, and a rounded tail fin that looks like a match flame (yellow/orange with black tip). It's a very pretty little fish. Anyone know what it may be? It's definitely shaped like a guppy.

Also, I am a complete beginner at this so I got the 10g "setup". I think it's an Aqueon. The filter it came with seems to make a strong current in the tank. My fish are going to keep really fit swimming in it. The water falls down from the filter and creates a strong downflow, so much that my guppies can't swim directly under it. I can't imagine what will happen when I put ghost shrimp in there... they're gonna be swept round and round the way this thing is set up. How do I fix this, or is it supposed to be like that?

I just thought of another nooby question. They keep reasting on the gravel for short periods of time. Is this okay? I just want my fish to be happy.

Oh, and another request... can someone please post a picture of what an anal fin is, and what a male and female one looks like? I am not wrapping my head around this seemingly simple concept.

Thank you! I know I am asking a lot, sorry.

2. Grits78 Initiate Member

images.jpg this is the best I could find to identify male or female for you.

3. catsma_97504 Fishlore Legend Member

Welcome to Fishlore both of you!

To lessen the downward push of the water return you can fill the tank to the top frame or you can stuff the filter with a sponge. Both usually work to minimize the downward thrust.