What's the difference? Gravel or Sand

Discussion in 'Freshwater Substrates - Gravel, Sand' started by Honos, Jan 10, 2013.

1. Honos

HonosNew MemberMember

Greetings,

I've been reading this sub-forum and found most threads are questions about sand. As a newb I really don't understand the difference between sand and gravel. Can someone fill me in on the pros and cons of the different substrate?

Thanks.

2. JDcichlidlover

JDcichlidloverWell Known MemberMember

well sand is easier to keep clean because all the yuck settles on top and you can just gravel vac it right up, also if you have bottom dwellers like cory cats, loaches, or a syno cat the gravel can hurt their barbels (whiskers) while soft sand won't.
    Most people on here recommend sand, its more natural for the fish and it looks beautiful. gravel comes in tons of colors and is good if you have an undergravel filter, most people recommend a hob filter or canister.
    things to remember about sand are:
    turn the filter off
    sift your fingers through it before you gravel vac
    hold the gravel vac about a half in off the top of the sand or you'll suck sand up

[video=youtube_share;U79bQmIKhuQ]http://youtu.be/U79bQmIKhuQ[/video]
    this video is courtesy of Eienna.

3. oscarsbud

oscarsbudWell Known MemberMember

Hello!

I have sand in 3 of my tanks and 1/2 sand and 1/2 gravel in my big one. The gravel does seem to hold the plants down better. But other than that, I would highly recommend the sand. To me, it is much more natural looking and my bottom dwellers seem to spend an lot more time rooting around on the sand side than the gravel.

4. guster730

guster730Valued MemberMember

If you use pool filter sand it's heavy enough to not to be sucked up by a vacuum, although it's not necessary to stick the vacuum in the sand. I much prefer sand to gravel because it looks much more natural and waste is less noticeable. I recommend using pool filter sand, it's very cheap and does the job.

5. kinezumi89