Whatever happened to Dip Tubes?

STEVERINSL
I'm new here but I've been keeping aquariums, off and on, for over 50 years. Small-scale, nothing elaborate or exotic. Things have changed a lot in those years, but there's one item of equipment that I've lost along the way and to my amazement doesn't seem to exist anymore, anywhere. Everybody used to have one. You never really needed more than just one. Can you guess what it is? The dip tube! I'd find one to be very handy in my freshwater shrimp tank right now, but I've searched online to the four corners of the earth without managing to locate one. I'll make my own if I have to, but before I do, does anybody here have any idea where one might be found? I'd be very appreciative!

Algonquin
What is a Dip Tube? (For those of us who haven't been fishkeeping for 50 years!!)

STEVERINSL
What is a Dip Tube? (For those of us who haven't been fishkeeping for 50 years!!)
Oh, now I feel so old! A dip tube is a plastic tube with an enlarged chamber toward the bottom, that you use to suck up small amounts of goop from the substrate. You put your finger or thumb over the top opening in the tube, lower it until the bottom of the tube is just above the substrate, lift your finger to let water be drawn in, and the goop fills the lower chamber. When that's full the water keeps surging up to the top of the tube. You put your finger back over it, lift the whole thing out, and empty it into a bucket or sink or something. It's ideal for spot cleaning small areas without any need for power pumping. My old books are in storage so I can't put my hand on a good photo, but there are patents for them, like the one that's attached. You can get a good idea from it.

Attachments

• Aquarium dip tube patent.jpg
    Aquarium dip tube patent.jpg
    44.4 KB · Views: 124
juniperlea