What Would Make Aqadvisor Better?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Florian Pellet, Apr 16, 2017.

1. F

Florian Pellet Well Known Member Member

Hey all,
    I've learned from this forum not to rely too much on aqadvisor. I still use it to help me make my stocking list and get a few warnings I might have missed, but then I always use fishlore to validate my ideas. I think this process is good. At least it's worked for me :)

But what would make aqadvisor better? One example I might think of would be to use more conservative temperature estimates (@TexasDomer always recommends not reaching the outer limits of a temperature range). What else can you think of that would make aqadvisor better? I'm a good computer programmer and I thought I might give it a go.

Go wild with your ideas and we'll see if something good emerges.

2. Ed204

Ed204 Well Known Member Member

I know this sounds dumb but I find it kinda complicated to select the fish you're looking for.

You'll need to keep on scrolling and scrolling until you find your fish, I would love if it there are certain sub sections for different families of fish.

For example: Freshwater fish -> Cichlids -> American Cichlids -> FireMouth Cichlid

3. OP
    OP
    F

Kind of like this hierarchy? Freshwater Fish - Freshwater Aquarium Fish

4. NavigatorBlack

NavigatorBlack Fishlore VIP Member

I think it needs to base its water suggestions on natural conditions for the fish, and not on aquarium lore. Most aquarists over heat tanks. There should be natural history info for every fish - what its habitat is like. Tank info is never enough.
    Our whole hobby has that problem though.
    That's a data problem, not a programming one.
    I think they consistently suggest too many fish in a tank, but that's a point that could be debated for hours.